Join Us for a Ghost Army Gold Medal Celebration Livecast! | Stephen Ambrose Historical Tours

Join Us for a Ghost Army Gold Medal Celebration Livecast!

Ghost Army soldier and inflatable tankPresident Biden has signed The Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal Act into law. It’s time to celebrate this historic moment!

Join us online for a live program that will bring together Ghost Army veterans and feature congratulatory messages, a video history of the Gold Medal and the seven-year journey, its passage, surprise guests, and much more. Best of all, veterans of the unit will have a chance to talk personally about the meaning of this long-overdue recognition.

The Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal Celebration will be held on Sunday, February 13 at 2 PM Eastern/1PM Central/12PM Mountain Time/11AM Pacific. You can tune in live via the following YouTube link.

Join Us for a Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal Celebration >

Congressional Gold Medal Process

People have lots of questions about the Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal. Here is what Rick Beyer, President of the Ghost Army Legacy Project and the historian for our Ghost Army Tour, knows so far:

  • The Medal will be produced by the U.S. Mint.
  • The Ghost Army Legacy Project will work with the Mint to provide input on the design.
  • The Mint produces one medal, 3 inches in diameter, to be presented to the Smithsonian. It is literally a gold medal – it contains 300 grams of gold, worth approximately $20,000.
  • The process for creating and reviewing the design, and actually minting the medal, takes roughly two years.
  • The Mint will make bronze duplicates in several sizes that will be available for purchase.
  • The Ghost Army Legacy Project plans to purchase bronze duplicates for the surviving veterans.

There will most likely be an official presentation ceremony in Congress when the medal is presented two years from now. While the details of this are up to the Speaker of the House, we hope and assume that veterans and family members will be able to attend, and the Ghost Army Legacy Project will work toward that end.

The Ghost Army Legacy Project

The mission of The Ghost Army Legacy Project is to preserve and honor the legacy of these men.

Learn more about The Ghost Army Legacy Project >

FacebookEmail
Matterhorn Travel has merged with Stephen Ambrose Historical Tours. Please update your weblinks to https://stephenambrosetours.com and use info@stephenambrosetours.com for all your emails.
[X] Close this message